Snapon Diagnostics Product Forums Diagnostic Home . Diagnostic Product Index . Customer Care        
Diagnostic SoftwareDiagnostic PlatformsAsk-a-Tech, Automotive Repair InformationTech Central
Go Back   Snapon Diagnostics Product Forums > Snap-on Diagnostic Products > Diagnostic Platforms > ZEUS User Forum
Home Today's Posts Register Members List FAQ
Thank you for visiting Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums.
You are currently NOT logged in to a registered account. Some functions of Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums will not be available to you if your are not logged in as a registered member. For a limited time only, registrationto Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums to Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums is !! FREE !! Select the    **REGISTER NOW**    link to register for your FREE Snap-on Diagnostics Product Forums account!!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-18-2020, 02:21 PM
Dr Dave Dr Dave is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Hgerstown Md
Posts: 47
Dr Dave Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default 2005 ranger tran input/output pids

HEY I have a 05 ford ranger with a 4.0 auto trans 4wd I have a p0741 and 2 reman trans later I'm trying to check the input and output shaft speeds but the pids are "RPM" and "TSS RPM" which pids can I look at to see the difference in speed or did snappy forget to include this ?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-18-2020, 04:24 PM
greasybob's Avatar
greasybob greasybob is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 1,533
greasybob You made it!  You've done a great job ofearning reputation from your peers.  You now have secret access to a new hidden forum!

Default

I have an 03 Ranger outside. Tomorrow I'll see if there is an useful information from there that I can give you. For now though can you activate the TCC solenoid with your scanner ? Can you here it clicking ? Any other codes ? Are there any observable driving symptoms ?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-19-2020, 03:00 PM
greasybob's Avatar
greasybob greasybob is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 1,533
greasybob You made it!  You've done a great job ofearning reputation from your peers.  You now have secret access to a new hidden forum!

Default

Here is some data I got from the 03 Ranger 4.0 5R55E tranny. Torque Converter slip can be seen as TCCMACT in the data list. I was running this on a hoist so there was no slip. It also shows TCC apply percentage as well as engine speed (input), turbine speed and output shaft speed. Here is an article that explains things a little better, https://www.sonnax.com/tech_resource...-transmissions Hope this helps.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 03_ranger_4.0_tranny_data_TCC_70.jpg (145.4 KB, 73 views)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-19-2020, 04:55 PM
Dr Dave Dr Dave is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Hgerstown Md
Posts: 47
Dr Dave Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default Ranger 05

It appears snapon left all those pix off the 2005 i only see rpm and tcc% unless I can find it in troubleshooter. I was told rpm was engine rpm and not input ?thanks for your time. If you have any other input defafenty welcome. After 4\5 minutes of driving IS light flashes shifts become harsh no lockup occurs . Before that it will do lockup momentary. Have put 2 rema n trans. Have labelled tcc c and amp s is working also changed pcm.Flow test cooler as far as checking the amount in certain seconds i forget now but is in my notes. I second guessing that only because it has a exturnal cooler also and I will make sure it was tested in correct area
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-19-2020, 05:39 PM
greasybob's Avatar
greasybob greasybob is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 1,533
greasybob You made it!  You've done a great job ofearning reputation from your peers.  You now have secret access to a new hidden forum!

Default

You could always try to fool your scanner and manually enter the vehicle as an 03 and see if the data lists are different. If I recall correctly, engine and transmission were listed together on the main menu as "drivetrain" and then the transmission data was in the sub menu along with 4 or 5 other data lists. Not how most vehicle menus are set up, there is no separate transmission listing in the main menu.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-20-2020, 06:39 AM
Dr Dave Dr Dave is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Hgerstown Md
Posts: 47
Dr Dave Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default What software

Are you using a a Zeus ? What what software release are u running
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-20-2020, 06:51 AM
Dr Dave Dr Dave is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Hgerstown Md
Posts: 47
Dr Dave Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default Good ideal

I just saw your comment on trying to fool it . I will try that tomorrow thsnks
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-20-2020, 01:52 PM
greasybob's Avatar
greasybob greasybob is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 1,533
greasybob You made it!  You've done a great job ofearning reputation from your peers.  You now have secret access to a new hidden forum!

Default

I'm using a Verus Edge with 20.4. Not sure if an 05 and 03 are the same. I don't remember there being a lot of changes.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-22-2020, 05:39 AM
Dr Dave Dr Dave is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Hgerstown Md
Posts: 47
Dr Dave Congratulations!  Your peers have given you enough reputation to put you into the fist level!

Default SPOT ON

Ok I'm using Zeus 20.4 and yes I fooled it like you said .I now have the same pids you have . I did a capture last night , it was too late to look at it but I just put it on a flash drive and are looking at it on my pc. I'm going to look at that artical again you sent as for I'm not sure which to look at . I know the differnce of input and out put but TCCMACT ? should that be 0 ish slip in lockup and I think there is engine speed and input rpm too . ? Thanks this should be a game changer
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-23-2020, 04:25 AM
greasybob's Avatar
greasybob greasybob is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 1,533
greasybob You made it!  You've done a great job ofearning reputation from your peers.  You now have secret access to a new hidden forum!

Default

This is from the Sonnax article


On a road test, TCC slip is available with a scanner, seen as TCCMACT RPM. This is calculated or actual engine RPM to turbine RPM difference. When you see a TCC percentage of 70% or higher and high slip of TCCMACT RPM 140 or more, your apply circuit has insufficient clamping force. But is it due to converter, seal or insufficient apply pressure?

I would say that slippage in the 20 to 40 RPM range should be considered normal depending on engine load. When I entered the 03 as an 05 I got different set of PIDs also.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:19 PM.


Reminder: Your participation in these areas of the site is solely at your own risk. The
information is only the opinion of the poster, is no substitute for your own research,
and should not be relied upon for business critical decisions or any other purpose.
Never assume that you are anonymous and cannot be identified by your posts.
We reserve the right to discontinue any users' use of any such public forum
for any reason. Please read the Terms of Service.

Snap-on is a trademark, registered in the United States and other countries, of Snap-on Incorporated. Other marks are marks of their respective holders.
©2009 Snap-on Incorporated. All rights reserved.